Evans wins Short Course ending Durango’s reign

Team Losi Racing’s Dustin Evans brought Durango’s domination of the 4WD Short Course class in the Euro Offroad Series to an exciting end as he claimed the overall win in the third and final A-Main at the 2012/13 season opener in Poznan, Poland, ahead of defending champion Joern Neumann.  Having won the class at the EOS pilot race in Sweden and all three rounds of the inaugural season of the series, the first sign that Team Durango’s reign was under treat came in qualifying when Evans used his Losi Ten-SCTE to TQ qualifying.  Predicted to be the best racing of the day the small grid of trucks didn’t disappoint with an epic battle in the first A-Main which saw Evans Orion powered truck take the win in a drag race to the finish line with Neumann, the American doing just enough to snatch the win from the German who had led the previous 9 laps.

Leg 2 saw another close race between the Reedy Race Champions with Neumann’s Speed Passion powered DESC410 coming out on top by a slightly bigger 3/10ths of a second this time round setting the stage for an exciting head to head in the leg 3.  Despite the best efforts of Neumann to keep Durango’s run of overall wins intact he couldn’t get the job done with Evans taking the win by a massive, by today’s standard, 9/10th of a second.  With  their truck been no match for Durango last season Evans was clearly delighted to take Losi’s first win and prove that they are now competitive on the unique European style carpet track.  Helping Evans to fine tune his truck all weekend TLR team-mate Darren Bloomfield said afterwards that he must get himself a Ten-SCTE now and along with 2WD Buggy contest Short Course for the rest of the Euro Offroad Series.  Third in each of the legs Hupo Hönigl completed the podium with his LRP powered Durango.

In the third leg of the 4WD Buggy A-Main, which would determine who would join Neumann on the podium, Evans pulled off the win with his aging XXX-4 ahead of Benni Gröschel and 2WD Overall podium finisher Michal Orlowski with Hupo Hönigl fourth. Having had two bad earlier legs the win would only be good enough to give Evans 5th overall behind Schumacher’s Tom Cockerill.  Finishing 2nd in Legs 1 & 2, Hönigl would get second overall with Gröschel taking the final step to make it an all Durango podium.

In 2WD Short Course it was an all German podium with Top Qualifier Tom Bujara driving a Durango taking the win from the TLR of Eberhard Beck with defending Champion & Durango designer Gerd Strenge third.

Overall Result 4WD Short Course
1. Dustin Evans (US) – TLR – 2 pts
2. Jörn Neumann (DE) – Durango – 3
3. Hupo Hönigl (AT) – Durango – 6
4. Matt Castellano (US) – TLR – 8
5. Kája Novotny (CZ) – Durango – 10
6. Daniel Kobbevik (NO) – Associated – 12
7. Sven Rudig (DE) – Durango – 13

Overall Result 4WD Buggy
1. Jörn Neumann (DE) – Durango – 2 pts
2. Hupo Hönigl (AT) – Durango – 4
3. Benni Gröschel (DE) – Durango – 5
4. Tom Cockerill (GB) – Schumacher – 8
5. Dustin Evans (US) – TLR – 9
6. Michal Orlowski (PL) – Tamiya – 10
7. Danny McGee (GB) – Tamiya – 10
8. Jesper Rasmussen (DK) – Schumacher – 11
9. Joakim Nicolaisen (NO) – Associated – 13
10.Matt Castellano (US) – TLR – 14

Result 4WD Buggy A-main Leg 3
1.(4) Dustin Evans (US) – TLR – 16/5:03.742
2.(3) Benni Gröschel (DE) – Durango – 16/5:06.662
3.(9) Michal Orlowski (PL) – Tamiya – 16/5:13.021
4.(2) Hupo Hönigl (AT) – Durango – 16/5:14.299
5.(6) Jesper Rasmussen (DK) – Schumacher – 16/5:18.093
6.(10)Matt Castellano (US) – TLR – 15/5:02.700
7.(8) Danny McGee (GB) – Tamiya – 15/5:05.545
8.(7) Joakim Nicolaisen (NO) – Associated – 15/5:06.102
9.(5) Tom Cockerill (GB) – Schumacher – 3/1:10.456
10.(1)Jörn Neumann (DE) – Durango – DNS

View complete event results here.

View our event image gallery here.

Categories - Racing, Report


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or formatted results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry.

Primary Sponsors
Associate Sponsors
EOS 2012/13 Sponsors
Series Partners
EOS 2012/13 Sponsors

2014/15 Championship Standings after Rd2

4wd Buggy Class
1. Neumann Jörn - 309pts
2. Martin Lee - 303pts
3. Bayer Martin - 298pts
4. Wollanka Martin - 297pts
5. Hönigl Hupo - 296pts
6. Hofer Patrick - 290pts
7. Adachi Shin - 288pts
8. Risser Nicolas - 286pts
9. Hovgaard Frederik - 282pts
10.Scholz Oliver - 280pts

2wd Buggy Class
1. Martin Lee - 308pts
2. Neumann Jörn - 304pts
3. Orlowski Michal - 297pts
4. Bayer Martin - 294pts
5. Wollanka Martin - 293pts
6. Nicolaisen Joakim - 292pts
7. Hönigl Hupo - 290pts
8. Adachi Shin - 286pts
9. Scholz Oliver - 283pts
10.Hofer Patrick - 282pts

4wd SC Truck Class
1. Neumann Jörn - 312pts
2. Fedorenko Vladimir - 303pts
3. Chub Dmytro - 301pts
4. Eriksen Per - 299pts
5. Novotny Kaja - 153pts

Like Euro Offroad Series on Facebook