April 26, 2014

Neumann relinquishes title but gets first win in Austria


Having relinquished his Euro Offroad Series 2WD Buggy title to Naoto Matsukura in the second A-Main, Joern Neumann took some satisfaction in winning A3 to claim the overall win for the fourth & final round of the championship in Austria this evening.  The only driver to have held an EOS buggy title prior to today, the Team Durango driver’s win makes him the fourth winner of the season in the ever increasingly competitive championship.  Today’s win also helped Neumann to snatch the runner-up spot in the championship from former team Hupo Honigl who ends up third.   The season’s other race winner Xray’s Martin Bayer ends up fourth followed by the Schumacher of Tom Cockerill, who TQ’d the season opener, making if five different manufacturers at the top of the overall 2013/14 points standings.


A3 looked like Matusukura would back up his title win by becoming the season’s first repeat race winner but holding a commanding lead he would again make a costly mistake with 2-minutes to go.  Hooked up on the track piping, trying to to stay ahead of the battling Honigl and Neumann after being marshalled he tried to clear the tabletop but didnt have enough speed jumping short and breaking a C-hub on his B-Max 2.  His description of the incident afterwards was rather self explanitory, ‘car shit good, me just shit’.


Neumann said as the race reached the half way distance he ‘thought it was all over’.  Once Matsukura broke he said it was game on again and he tried everything to get passed Honigl which he did with three laps to go.  Happy to finish up the season with a win, the German said hopefully tomorrow he can cap off the season by retaining his 4WD title.  Set to battle it out with Martin Bayer he said he has the car to get the job done and it is now just down to the driver.


Honigl was still after the race somewhat dismayed by Matsukura’s crash. Had the Japanese driver stayed out front for the win it would have automatically secured him second overall in the championship.  Instead he had to try to keep Neumann at bay and while his Team C was ‘really good’ the European Champion pulled a pretty impressive pass at the end of the straight to which the Austrian had no response.  Overall disappointed to lose the runners-up position, Honigl said he was pleased with his season as he was in contention for the win at all four rounds.

2WD Buggy A-Main Overall Result
1. Joern Neumann (DE) – Durango – 2 pts
2. Naoto Matsukura (JP) – Yokomo – 3
3. Hupo Hoingl (AT) – Team C – 4
4. Lee Martin (GB) – Yokomo – 6
5. Shin Adachi (JP) – Yokomo – 9
6. Martin Bayer (CZ) – Xray – 10
7. Juho Levanen (FI) – Associated – 11
8. Michal Orlowski (PL) – Durango – 11
9. Peter Pinisch (AT) – Associated – 14
10.Tom Cockerill (GB) – Schumacher – 18

2WD Buggy A-Main Leg 3 Result
1.(3) Joern Neumann (DE) – Durango – 15/5:08.554
2.(2) Hupo Hoingl (AT) – Team C – 15/5:10.341
3.(4) Lee Martin (GB) – Yokomo – 15/5:12.756
4.(7) Shin Adachi (JP) – Yokomo – 15/5:19.078
5.(9) Juho Levanen (FI) – Associated – 15/5:21.104
6.(5) Martin Bayer (CZ) – Xray – 15/5:21.920
7.(10)Peter Pinisch (AT) – Associated – 14/5:03.522
8.(8) Michal Orlowski (PL) – Durango – 14/5:04.612
9.(6) Tom Cockerill (GB) – Schumacher – 14/5:10.766
10.(1)Naoto Matsukura (JP) – Yokomo – 9/2:58.382


2WD Buggy Overall Championship Standings (Top 10)
1. Naoto Matsukura – Yokomo – 464 pts
2. Joern Neumann – Durango – 461
3. Hupo Hoingl – Team C – 459
4. Martin Bayer – Xray – 451
5. Tom Cockerill – Schumacher – 451
6. Lee Martin – Yokomo – 450
7. David Ronnefalk – Kyosho – 447
8. Peter Pinisch – Associated – 435
9. Juho Levanen – Associated – 431
10.Michal Orlowski – Durango – 428

View complete event results here.

View our event image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: