March 8, 2014

Bayer is 4WD Top Qualifier at EOS


Martin Bayer has become only the second driver to TQ 4WD Buggy at a Euro Offroad Series race, the Team Xray driver topping the final round of qualifying at the Hudy Arena to take the honour of overall Top Qualifier ending Joern Neumann’s domination of the class.  The fourth & final qualifier saw a 1-2 for the Xray team as Renaud Savoya posted the second fastest time securing the French ace fifth on the grid.  A bad round for the only driver able to challenge Bayer for the TQ, Naoto Matsukura was only 16th fastest but the hard charging Japanese ace will start 2nd on the grid with Neumann lining up third.


‘Finally’ said a clearly delighted Bayer, the Czech ace having come so close to toppling Neumann at round 2 of the championship in Berlin.  Describing his XB4 as ‘so good and so easy to drive’, something he highlighted by being the only driver to run 14 laps of the track doing so in the final qualifier, he said it was ‘just amazing’ to claim his first TQ and do so at his home track.  Having been the driver to end Neumann’s two year reign as European Champion, Bayer said it was also a pretty good feeling to be the first to beat him in the EOS albeit it for now just qualifiying. Looking to tomorrow’s triple A-Main, he said he has no reason to make any set-up changes to his buggy adding that he just aims to make the most of the starting with a clear track in front  of.


Crashing on his open lap of the deciding qualifier, Matsukura said once again it was the driver that was the weak link.  Confident his B-Max4 has the speed to win, he said while he would prefer to be starting from pole he doesn’t see his No.2 position as a major issue saying it was ‘no problem’ and that he is going to ‘push Martin hard’ tomorrow, confident he will be able to get passed the Xray.


Trying a different set-up for the final qualifier Neumann said it didn’t work and his DEX410 was sliding everywhere.  Posting only the 7th fastest time, the German who has won all nine rounds of the EOS held to date over the past three seasons described Bayer’s pace today as ‘crazy fast’ adding he has no match for his rival.  Looking to the finals he said starting third may not be so bad and maybe its his luck that Matsukura is starting second as he could benefit from the Japanese drivers ‘aggressive style’.


Lining up fourth on the grid, helped by a third in Q4, Team Yokomo’s Lee Martin said he is just not fast enough to contend for the win this weekend.  Driving his Viper powered B-Max4 he said it feels like the pace is ‘OK’ but if he tries to push any harder it feels likes its going to crash and for this reason he admits he is ‘scared’ to go that little bit extra.


Savoya said the diff change made to his Orion powered XB4 was a big improvement.  Having tried it in practice he said it didn”t work but running it in combination with a longer wheel base it make the buggy a lot better.  Planning to stick with this set-up for the final,  the relative novice to 1:10 electric offroad said he is pretty confident with a podium his target for tomorrow.


Despite posting the 4th fastest time in 3 of the 4 qualifiers, suffering aDNF in Q2, Hupo Honigl starts 6th.  The Team C driver  said on first run tyres his buggy is ‘OK’ but on used it is difficult to drive.  The Austrian said while Bayer & Matsukura are in a different league he said the battle for third overall is wide open especially judging by the number of mistakes drivers have been making during qualifying.

4WD Buggy A-Main Grid
1. Martin Bayer – Xray – 310 pts
2. Naoto Matsukura – Yokomo – 308
3. Joern Neumann – Durango – 306
4. Lee Martin – Yokomo – 304
5. Renaud Savoya – Xray – 303
6. Hupo Honigl – Team C – 302
7. Miguel Matias – Xray – 300
8. David Ronnefalk – Kyosho – 298
9. Oskar Levin – Team C – 297
10.Robert Battle – Yokomo – 292

4WD Buggy Q4 times
1. Martin Bayer – Xray – 14/5:20.092
2. Renaud Savoya – Xray – 13/5:06.545
3. Lee Martin – Yokomo – 13/5:07.006
4. Hupo Honigl – Team C – 13/5:08.636
5. Miguel Matias – Xray – 13/5:08.793
6. Oskar Levin – Team C – 13/5:12.455
7. Joern Neumann – Durango – 13/5:14.867
8. Ales Bayer – Xray – 13/5:16.330
9. Martin Wollanka – Xray – 13/5:16.928
10.Robert Battle – Yokomo 13/5:17.121

View the complete event results here.

View our event image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: