February 11, 2012

Neumann pulls off Qualifying double at EOS

Joern Neumann will carry the No.1 starting number on both his buggies in tomorrow’s A-Mains at the Euro Offroad Series opener in the Czech Republic after the German ace completed the double in buggy qualifying.  Having secured overall TQ honours in 2WD Buggy from Durango team-mate Hupo Hönigl, the European Champion went on to put in his fastest run of the weekend in the closing heat of the day to be crowned Top Qualifier again from his Austrian team-mate.

Having produced the fastest overall time of the five rounds of qualifying when he TQ’d Q2, Honigl will be hoping he can challenge his, very much on form, younger team-mate over tomorrow’s 3 leg finals but with Neumann still on a high from becoming the first European to win the Reedy International Race of Champions, he will have his work cut out. Neumann was always expected to rule proceedings in 4WD Buggy this weekend especially as the other full factory squad here this weekend, TLR, are using a buggy that hit the market two decades ago.

Despite the age of the his car European Horizon Hobby backed driver Oskar Levin is again the best non-Durango driver with his XX4 set to start 3rd on the grid in front of the XXX4 of former 1:8 Offroad European Champion and World finalist Miguel Matias.  Knowing that they have little chance of going for the win the TLR pair are focused on their own private battle for the final spot on the podium but will need to be careful of promising local 15-year-old Kája Novotny whose Durango DEX410 starts fifth in front of the Tamiya of Swedish Champion Otto Ausfelt.

In 4WD Short Course there was further success for the Team Durango squad with Hönigl declared the Top Qualifier over Neumann after the pair tied on points.  Mike Truhe’s Losi Ten-SCTE will line up third.

4WD Buggy A-Main Grid
1. Jörn Neumann (DE) – Durango DEX410 – 0 pts
2. Hupo Hönigl (AT) – Durango DEX410 – 1
3. Oskar Levin (SE) – Losi XX4 – 3
4. Miguel Matias (PT) – Losi XXX4 – 3
5. Kája Novotny (CZ) – Durango DEX410 – 5
6  Otto Ausfelt (SE) – Tamiya TRF511 – 6
7. Vaclav Strupek (CZ) – Durango DEX410 – 6
8. Michal Bok (CZ) – Yokomo B-Max 4 – 8
9. Martin Kreil (AT) – Durango DEX410 – 10
10.Piotr Okonski (PL) – Tamiya TRF511 – 13

View complete results here.

View our event image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: