February 11, 2012

Neumann 2WD Buggy Top Qualifier

Joern Neumann is the 2WD Buggy Top Qualifier for the opening round of the TLR/Spektrum Euro Offroad Series after the German secured his third TQ run of the day in the fifth & final round of qualifying in the Czech Republic.  The Team Durango driver went into the last qualifier with only team-mate Hupo Honigl in a position to deny him the No.1 starting position but the Austrian rolled onto his roof on the opening lap bringing a very premature end to that challenge.

Instead Neumann came under pressure early in the 5-minute heat from TLR’s Mike Truhe.  The TLR star’s first experience of racing a buggy on carpet, the American’s confidence on what is an alien surface to the former US Champion has grown with each run and in Q5 we saw for the first time that Durango may not have it 100% their own way in tomorrow’s A-Main.  A mistake on his penultimate lap saw Truhe drop to third on the time sheets behind fellow TLR22 driver Oskar Levin, a result that also means he lines up on the grid in fourth position behind the 17-year-old Swedish Champion who is the highest starting non-Durango driver. Having held third in the qualification ranking for much of the day the 6th fastest time in the final two qualifiers drops TLR’s Miguel Matias to fifth on the grid.

Securing second the grid, Honigl said after his roll two corners into the start of Q5 that he reverted to using the run to scrub in his new set of dBoots for the finals, pulling up his LRP powered DEX210 once the controlled tyres started to come in.  Able to run a very similar fastest lap time to Neumann during the round Honigl said he is confident he can give his team-mate a good run for his money tomorrow.

2WD Buggy A-Main Grid
1. Jörn Neumann (DE) – Durango DEX210 – 0 pts
2. Hupo Hönigl (AT) – Durango DEX210 – 0
3. Oskar Levin (SE) – TLR 22 – 2
4. Mike Truhe (US) – TLR 22 – 3
5. Miguel Matias (PT) – TLR 22 – 3
6. Otto Ausfelt (SE) – TLR 22 – 5
7. Martin  Kreil (AT) – Durango DEX210 – 8
8. Roland Hauleitner (AT) – Associated B4 – 8
9. Gerd Strenge (DE) – Durango DEX210 – 12
10.Vaclav Strupek (CZ) – Durango DEX210 – 13

View complete results here.

View our event image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: