Neumann again in Q2

Day 2 of the ‘TLR/Spektrum Euro Offroad Series presented by Horizon Hobby’ got underway in Germany with the second round of 2WD Buggy qualifying with yesterday’s Q1 pace setter Joern Neumann once again topping of the timing sheets. The Durango driver produced a time of 14/5:05.631 to take the round by 4.5 seconds ahead of Yokomo Naoto Matsukura with TLR’s Dustin Evans completing the Top 3 on what was a much faster track following the overnight removal of a small roller just before the crossover which was causing problems for many of the record entry.

Neumann was happy with his run but said the track change caught him out in the early laps as he over jumped the crossover leading to a moment coming off the following table which lost him some time.  With many drivers having trouble correctly clearing the crossover due to the short run up after the rollover, with it removed the defending champion said it was now very easy to give too much throttle and this took a few laps to adjust to.  Interestingly Neumann’s team-mate Hupo Honigl who was so focused on trying to put in a clean five minute run after suffering a serious of mistakes in Q1 didn’t even notice the removal of the rollover only becoming aware of the track change after the race when Schumacher’s Tom Cockerill asked him what he thought about it at the end of the run.  For Q3 Neumann said the only changes he plans is to fit a new set of dBoots tyres as his DEX210 was starting to understeer a little by the end of the second qualifier.

Despite suffering one very costly mistake that lost him a massive six seconds, Japanese ace Matsukura said he was much happier with his B-Max2 MR today.  Adding weight to the buggy, the World Championship Finalist said this helped settle the buggy better on the landings and for Q3 he plans to add further weight. The 4-time Japanese National Champion who has never raced on a carpet offroad track, adding that his confidence and feel for the uniquely European style track is improving every run.

Evans was annoyed with himself after the run saying his TLR22 was easy to drive but he just made too many mistakes.  Setting the lead pace he lost it with a mistake after which he tried to push too hard leading to further mistakes.  With a 2nd in Q1 and 3rd in Q2, the American said as he is ‘here to try win’ he will now use the remaining two qualifiers to try a some things with a view to finals.   The former Reedy Race Champion added he doesn’t need to find much but with a fraction more pace and consistency he is confident he can race with Neumann, the current Reedy Race Champion, for the win tomorrow.  Team Losi Racing team-mate Darrren Bloomfield repeated his Q1 performance with another 4th fastest run time. The British driver said he was happy with the speed of his buggy but he just needs to get it to ‘flow better’ through the corners.

Completing the Top 6 in Q2 was factory Team C driver Oliver Scholz despite three mistakes each of which required his TM2 to be marshalled.  The 17-year-old German National Champion, who is making his EOS debut, said he is happy with performance of his buggy but hopes he can improve the driver in the remaining two qualifiers.  Leaving the buggy the same for Q3 he will try running a new set of the controlled dBoots rear tyres from which he has removed the outside row of pins.

Having suffered a speedo thermal shutdown in the opening qualifier yesterday, Tamiya Racing Factory’s Lee Martin was to suffer further electrical wows this time with his batteries lacking power.  Running saddle packs in his Vega mid motor converted TRF201 the European Champion said one of the cells went faulty.  Still suffering from a cold he only managed 12th for the round.  Fellow Brit Tom Cockerill also had electric problems on his Cougar SV2 with a motor wire coming off leaving him one spot behind Martin on the time sheets.

2WD Buggy Q2 times
1. Joern Neumann – Durango – 14/5:05.631
2. Naoto Matsukura – Yokomo – 14/5:10.111
3. Dustin Evans – TLR – 14/5:11.810
4. Darren Bloomfield – TLR – 14/5:12.058
5. Hupo Honigl – Durango – 14/5:15.409
6. Oliver Scholz – Team C – 14/5:16.452
7. Oliver Speith – Durango – 14/5:16.686
8. Christopher Krapp – Kyosho – 14/5:16.772
9. Oskar Levin – TLR – 14/5:18.881
10.Wesley van Helmond – TLR – 14/5:20.558

View our event image gallery here.

Categories - Racing, Report


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or formatted results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry.

Primary Sponsors
Associate Sponsors
EOS 2012/13 Sponsors
Series Partners
EOS 2012/13 Sponsors

2015/16 Championship Standings after Rd3

4wd Buggy Class
1. Coelho Bruno - 464pts
2. Martin Lee - 460pts
3. Wollanka Martin - 456pts
4. Rheinard Marc - 449pts
5. Neumann Jörn - 442pts
6. Orlowski Michal - 440pts
7. Bayer Ales - 432pts
8. Risser Nico - 426pts
9. Bayer Martin - 421pts
10.Hönigl Hupo - 414pts

2wd Buggy Class
1. Martin Lee - 464pts
2. Orlowski Michal - 458pts
3. Rheinard Marc - 457pts
4. Wollanka Martin - 452pts
5. Coelho Bruno - 451pts
6. Haatanen Joona - 442pts
7. Neumann Jörn - 440pts
8. Bayer Martin - 437pts
9. Hönigl Hupo - 426pts
10.Nicolaisen Joakim - 423pts

Modified Truck Class
1. Neumann Jörn - 468pts
2. Ernst Scotty - 434pts
3. Eriksen Per - 425pts
4. Nicolaisen Joakim - 304pts
5. Zambrzycki Bartlomiej - 303pts

Stock Truck Class (After 2 rounds)
1. Bujara Tom - 308pts
2. Eriksen Per - 294pts
3. Pfeifhofer Stefan - 156pts
4. Billino Björn - 153pts
5. Kobbevik Magne - 153pts

Like Euro Offroad Series on Facebook