January 6, 2013

Leg 3 win nets Evans runner-up spot

Team Losi Racing’s Dustin Evans cruised to victory in the final Leg of the 2WD A-Main at the second round of the TLR/Spektrum Euro Offroad Series to take the overall Runner-up spot at the German event behind Naoto Matsukura with defending champion Joern Neumann having to settle for the final step on the podium.

Starting behind Neumann, who was effectively on pole position as Matsukura having wrapped up victory in Leg 2 sat out the final, Evans took control of the race on lap 3 following the first of a serious of mistakes by the Team Durango driver.  Once in front the American’s Orion powered TLR22 was able to pull clear as the rest of the pack fought over second, his team-mate Darren Bloomfield coming out on top of that battle to claim a TLR 1-2 finish.  After the race Evans said he needs to find a way to get into the zone quicker on carpet as his final race is always his best.

Despite setting the fastest lap of the race a run of poor laps at the end of the 5-minute encounter dropped Neumann from second to sixth, Tamiya’s Lee Martin, Kyosho’s Christopher Krapp and his own team-mate Hupo Honigl the benefactors. In the championship standings the result sees Neumann’s advantage over Evans reduced by a point but with Matsukura set to contest the rest of the title fight looks set to really hot up.

Overall Result 2WD Buggy
1. Naoto Matsukura (JP) – Yokomo – 2 pts
2. Dustin Evans (US) – TLR – 4
3. Jörn Neumann (DE) – Durango – 4
4. Darren Bloomfield (GB) – TLR – 7
5. Lee Martin (GB) – Tamiya – 7
6. Oliver Scholz (DE) – Team C – 10
7. Christopher Krapp (DE) – Kyosho – 10
8. Hupo Honigl (AT) – Durango –  11
9. Tom Cockerill (GB) – Schumacher – 16
10.Otto Ausfelt (SE) – TLR – 16

2WD Buggy A-Main Leg 3 Result
1.(3) Dustin Evans (US) – TLR – 15/5:17.640
2.(6) Darren Bloomfield (GB) – TLR – 14/5:01.291
3.(4) Lee Martin (GB) – Tamiya – 14/5:01.628
4.(8) Christopher Krapp (DE) – Kyosho – 14/5:02.746
5.(5) Hupo Honigl (AT) – Durango – 14/5:04.810
6.(2) Jörn Neumann (DE) – Durango – 14/5:05.932
7.(7) Oliver Scholz (DE) – Team C – 14/5:08.352
8.(9) Otto Ausfelt (SE) – TLR – 14/5:09.297
9.(10)Tom Cockerill (GB) – Schumacher – 14/5:15.781
10.(1)Naoto Matsukura (JP) – Yokomo – DNS

Complete event results can be found here.

View our event image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: